Scientists warn of looming dog shortage

Posted: 2011/01/15 in Humor
Tags: ,

This phrase is for me what “beer milk shake” and “shrimp ice cream” were to one of the characters in John Steinbeck’s Cannery Row. An absurd notion that he couldn’t get out of his head.

The Steinbeck character eventually orders a beer milk shake. He said it wasn’t very good. I don’t recall if he ever did anything with the shrimp ice cream concept, but let’s put it this way—regardless of how my investments aren’t doing, I’m not interested in a franchise.

And, so far as I know, dog shortages are not top of mind for even the most alarmist of scientists. I think at least some of the smart money’s on ol’ canis domesticus, at least as a species. Individual dogs may not do so hot, but in general even I’m confident that there will be plenty of dogs to go around.

Leave a Reply

