Love

Posted: 2011/01/22 in Words
Tags: ,

In English, we have one four-letter word “love” and we expect too much of it.

We love our spouses (or say we do), we make love (or want to), and we love pizza. I love cats; I just can’t eat a whole one by myself (that was a joke and it probably offended someone, maybe even someone I love).

The “love” I’m talking about is

Saying and doing what’s truly in the other’s best interest, whether they deserve it or not, and with no strings attached.

The “path of love” I talk about is a chosen way to relate to those around us as I travel through life. I don’t know who I’m going to meet on the path, but I choose in advance to love them as best as I am able to. Sometimes I’m not very able. Some of them are harder to love than others.

Comments
  1. […] my mind, but without even slowing down. What does cross my mind when I give, and what I aim for, is love, “Saying and doing what’s truly in the other’s best interest, whether they deserve it or not, […]

Leave a Reply

